A team from Mystery Creek has won the Savile Cup, hosted by the New Zealand Polo Association, with an 8-3 victory over their opponents from Rangitikei.

Spectators witnessed a fast-paced polo match where both horses and players gave their all. The Savile Cup, always eagerly anticipated, has once again confirmed its status as one of the highlights of the New Zealand polo calendar.

 The victorious team, consisting of Phillip Mueller, Zoe Reader, Kit Brooks, and JP Clarkin, demonstrated impressive prowess on the field. JP Clarkin, in particular, stood out as the Most Valuable Player (MVP) of the tournament, while Kit Brooks not only received the Fair Play Award but also had his horse, Black Spot, recognized as the best polo pony (BPP – Allan Bros Champion Pony).

The competitors from Rangitikei, Harriet McKelvie, Mark Duncan, Ross Ainsley, and Angus McKelvie, can take pride in their strong performance as runners-up.

Zoe Reader was acknowledged for the best string of ponies (Champion String of Ponies – McKelvie Trophy) with Chilli, Absolute, and Maverick, and JP’s Sublime was honored as the best retrained racehorse.

The New Zealand Polo Association wishes to congratulate all participants and thanks the players, horses, and fans for another extraordinary event. Special thanks are also extended to Secretary Emma Dormer for her excellent work and support